Founded in Bremerhaven in 1846

Just 19 years after Bremerhaven itself was established – since then Ludolph has stood for innovation, performance and quality, in particular in products for nautical and aeronautical applications. Our company is associated with a lengthy history and tradition, and likewise with continuous innovation and expansion.

We have been equipping ships of all types and sizes with magnetic compasses, sextants and other nautical instruments developed and manufactured by us since the year 1855.

Ludolph succeeded in breaking the monopoly status of British compass manufacturers in the middle of the 19th century through a blend of practical experience and technical skill. The shipowners of Bremen welcomed this development and the company was able to develop around the world. At the turn of the century sample stock could be found in Emden, Szczecin, Gdansk, Copenhagen and New York.

As early as 1906, we began building nautical instruments for airships (Zeppelins) which were leading-edge at the time. In the years that followed and as aircraft became an increasingly safe means of transport, we expanded our product range in the field of aeronautics.
Following the turmoil of the war, Ludolph Bremerhaven GmbH once again began with the production and improvement of compasses for coastal shipping.

Since 1956 we have also been producing various types of magnetic compasses and variometers for a range of military and civil aircraft. Ludolph Bremerhaven GmbH is also a specialist in the production of a wide range of components for civil and military aircraft construction.

We have been active specialists in the machining of components for the aviation industry and machinery construction since 1980 and we are a competent partner for innovative solutions in the fields of CNC turning and milling.
We guarantee the high-performance, sustainable and on-time production of complex and high-precision components in this field with our state-of-the-art CNC machinery.

In 2000, we moved into our new production hall with office building encompassing a total area of 3,320 sqm on the Bohmsiel industrial estate in Bremerhaven. We increased our production area by 30% in 2007 by adding a hall extension.
1846

1846

In 1846, just a few years after the foundation of Bremerhaven, W. Ihlder establishes a trading and sales company for nautical equipment for ships. The premises are located directly on the harbour, seafarers are supplied with equipment including compasses, watches, telescopes, night glasses, lamps.

In 1859 the company name is changed to W.Ludolph.

Today, the oil painting of Paul Ernst Wilke is in private ownership.

Photo: internal

1899

Employee photo.

Georg Ludolph: 2nd row, 2nd from left

Photo: internal

1925

“Count Zeppelin steered his airships according to the compasses they had built. Their instruments showed polar researchers and long-distance navigators like Amundsen, Christiansen and Nobile the route across oceans and the Arctic ice.”

Text source: Nordseezeitung, Bremerhaven, 17/03/1951

Image source: wikimedia

1960

Following complete destruction on 18 September 1944, the new building at Neuer Hafen is occupied.

The mid-1960s:

Orders from the aviation industry: from Hamburger Flugzeugbau (HFB), then from Messerschmitt-Bölkow-Blohm (MBB) and Fokker, all companies that later went on to become Airbus.

“Mechanical precision manufacturing” becomes the second pillar of the company.

Photo: internal

2000

New building and relocation to the “Bohmsiel” industrial estate in Bremerhaven.

Photo: internal

2020

Our team – your quality guarantee!

Photo: internal

This post is also available in: German

Gegründet 1846 in Bremerhaven

Nur 19 Jahre nach der Gründung Bremerhavens selbst – steht Ludolph seither für Innovation, Leistung und Qualität insbesondere bei Produkten für die Nautik und die Aeronautik. Eine lange Geschichte und Tradition ist mit unserem Hause verknüpft, genauso wie stetige Innovation und Expansion.

Bereits seit dem Jahr 1855 rüsten wir Schiffe aller Art und Größe mit von uns entwickelten und hergestellten Magnetkompassen, Sextanten und anderen nautischen Instrumenten aus.

Durch praktische Erfahrungen und technisches Können gelang es Ludolph die damalige Monopolstellung der britischen Kompasshersteller Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts zu durchbrechen. Die Bremer Reeder begrüßten diese Entwicklung und die Firma konnte sich weltweit weiterentwickeln. So existierten zur Jahrhundertwende Musterläger in Emden, Stettin, Danzig, Kopenhagen und New-York.

1906 schon begannen wir bereits mit dem Bau nautischer Instrumente für die in der damaligen Zeit modernen Luftschiffe (Zeppeline). In den folgenden Jahren und als sich die Flugzeuge mehr und mehr zum sicheren Verkehrsmittel wandelten, erweiterten wir unsere Produktpalette im Bereich der Aeronautik.

Nach den Kriegswirren begann die Fa. Ludolph Bremerhaven GmbH wieder mit der Herstellung und Verbesserung von Kompassen für die Küstenschifffahrt.

Seit 1956 fertigen wir zudem Magnetkompasse und Variometer verschiedener Typen für militärische und zivile Flugzeuge unterschiedlichster Arten. Weiter gehört die Ludolph Bremerhaven GmbH zu den Spezialisten in der Herstellung einer Vielzahl von Bauteilen für den zivilen und militärischen Flugzeugbau.

Seit 1980 sind wir als Spezialist auf dem Gebiet der Zerspanung von Bauteilen für die Luftfahrtindustrie und für den Maschinenbau aktiv und ein kompetenter Partner für innovative Lösungen in den Bereichen CNC-Drehen und CNC-Fräsen.

Mit unserem hochmodernen CNC-Maschinenpark gewährleisten wir in diesem Bereich eine leistungsstarke, nachhaltige und termingerechte Fertigung komplexer und hochpräziser Bauteile.

Im Jahr 2000 bezogen wir unsere neue Produktionshalle mit Bürogebäude mit einer Fläche von 3.320 qm im Industriegebiet Bohmsiel in Bremerhaven. 2007 vergrößerten wir die Produktionsfläche um 30 % durch einen Hallenanbau.

1846

Nur wenige Jahre nach der Gründung Bremerhavens eröffnet W. Ihlder 1846 einen Handel und Vertrieb von nautischen Geräten für die Schiffsausrüstung. Die Räume liegen direkt am Hafen, man liefert den Seefahrern z.B. Kompasse, Uhren, Fernrohre, Nachtgläser, Lampen.

1859 wird in W.Ludolph umfirmiert.

Das Ölgemälde von Paul Ernst Wilke befindet sich heute in Privatbesitz.

Foto: eigen

1899

Mitarbeiter-Foto.

Georg Ludolph: 2. Reihe, 2. v. links

Foto: eigen

1925

„Nach den von ihnen gebauten Kompassen hatte Graf Zeppelin seine Luftschiffe gelenkt, Ihre Instrumente wiesen Polarforschern und Langstreckenfliegern wie Amundsen, Christiansen und Nobile den Weg über Ozeane und im arktischen Eis.“

Text-Quelle: Nordseezeitung, Bremerhaven, 17.3.1951

Bildquelle: Wikimedia

1960

Nach der kompletten Zerstörung am 18. September 1944 erfolgt der Bezug des Neubaus am Neuen Hafen.

Mitte der 60er Jahre:
Aufträge aus der Luftfahrt: vom Hamburger Flugzeugbau (HFB), dann von Messerschmidt-Bölkow-Blohm (MBB) und Fokker, alles Unternehmen die später zu Airbus wurden.

Die „Mechanische Präzisionsfertigung“ wird zum zweiten Standbein des Unternehmens aufgebaut.

Foto: eigen

2000

Neubau und Umzug ins Industriegebiet „Bohmsiel“ in Bremerhaven.

Foto: eigen

2020

Unser Team – Ihr Garant für Qualität!

Foto: eigen

This post is also available in: Englisch